Skip to content

Cooking/Baking Success and Failures…

2013/04/27

Looking back, when I was about 10 or 11 I used to be able to make perfect moist, fluffy muffins with a huge muffin top. But then I didn’t make muffins for some time and I am no longer able to recreate the perfect muffin.

After rediscovering my interest in baking and cooking, things work out strangely.

I have been trying to figure out how to make perfect tasting kimchi. It is just over a year ago that I managed to make kimchi that in my opinion tasted perfect. Simply it was nice, spicy, but not salty…. but since then I haven’t made good kimchi. Actually I’ve made the worst kimchi ever. Extremely salty, with a really weird taste that is hard to describe.

As for macaroons, I carefully studied the instructions on how to make perfect macaroons, reading them and re-reading them over and over again. My first batch were a bigger sucess than I thought they would be (well apart from the too moist filling, which made them soggy in the end). But since that big success in making macaroon, every attempt has been a total failure…. Not sure why.

This time I want to try to make nerikiri wagashi. Will it be a success or failure, not sure…. For some strange reason, I tend to be more successful when making something for the first time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

